2013 Kicked my Ass

I've had a bad year - leave me alone

I’ve had a bad year – leave me alone

2013 was a very bad year for  me.  I started with a concussion, went through a wee bit of depression (sort of like being a wee bit pregnant) and spent nearly 2 weeks in the hospital where I could easily have died.  I slept most of the rest of the year, in a pathetically weakened state, due to side effects of medications.  I was passed over for a promotion I really wanted (and deserved) by an employer that was pretty content to have me effectively doing two jobs for one paycheck, while driving 80 miles a day to do so.  I had homesickness of epic proportions and spent more than a few days wondering “What is the point, exactly?”

Now that it only has a few hours left to kick my ass, I just want 2013 to know…

I learned to appreciate some things this year.  Like my devoted spouse who spent countless hours worrying over me, suffering when I suffered, nagging me when needed, giving space when needed as well.  I learned that I am much loved by many – kids, sisters, grandkids, friends, cousins, in-laws, outlaws and others –  I am truly blessed.

I learned that a few wonderful friends are all you really need.  Friends who just knew what I needed and when, who cared for me, cared for my dog, and supported by husband through all the crap.  Who texted, caught up with me on Facebook, or e-mailed – and understood my aversion to phone calls.

I learned that being appreciated by your employer for your contributions is better than having the “princess office”,  newer technology or deeper pockets.  I learned to go after what I wanted because no one was going to give it to me.  And I found a job that fits me (and is much closer to home with summers off).

I learned that all of the medical knowledge in the world won’t help you if you are nearly unconscious or too sick to advocate for yourself.   Appoint someone who can.  I learned that health care coverage is not to be taken for granted as my bills would have totalled nearly a$300,000 for all the care and services I received.  I also learned which hospital to avoid if I should ever need medical care again.

I learned that life can change in an instant and although my crises were really minor in comparison to those of many others - my life did not feel like mine at all.  I learned that by putting one foot in front of the other – no matter how tired or weak I felt – no matter how overwhelmed I became, I could just keep going just as I always have – just as I always will.  I learned that I am strong, capable, and unstoppable.

I learned that my body will not take neglect or abuse forever without rebellion.  I will listen.  I will appreciate the gift – a strong body – that I have been given.

So 2013 – I am not sad to see you go.  Sayonara, 2013.  Suck It.

27 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, humor, Uncategorized

27 responses to “2013 Kicked my Ass

  1. KBT

    Cheers to a happy healthy New Year!!!

  2. Diane Turner

    Hooray for you! Bring on 2014 with health and joy.

  3. 2014 WILL be a better year for you, all the best.

  4. I’m amazed by your willingness to see the good in what was obviously a shitstorm year. Here’s to a healthier 2014!

  5. I hope 2014 I treats you better. Happy New Year!

  6. I think if anyone has a right to tell 2013 to suck it, it’s you. Keep on getting stronger and healthier, that’s a direct order. Here’s to a much less suckier year!

  7. Even though a bad year, I think your reflections represent really good things that you can take from it — like seeds that will grow into something good. Here’s to a better 2014.

  8. 2013 was also not my favorite year – hubby lost 2 jobs, I didn’t work at all because I was too sick & received a diagnosis of COPD just in time for Christmas. But I have a roof over my head & food to eat, a supportive hubby who became the main “doer” in our home, so I’m trying to be grateful for the things I do have. Happy New Year K8edid! Let’s hope 2014 is kinder to both of us!

  9. Good riddance ’13, looking forward to ’14!

  10. Wow. You survived. You are awesome. Bring on the good stuff, 2014!

  11. Glad 2013 is GONE! Lot’s of lessons learned (that you could have probably done without.) Here’s to a healthy & prosperous new year! :)

  12. Best wishes for a HEALTHY happy and productive 2014!

  13. You learned a lot from 2013, so 2014 better look out! :)

  14. My heart goes out to you…may the coming year bring only good into your life…seems like it’s on its way!

  15. 2013 wasn’t too bad for me, so I’m hoping that doesn’t jinx 2014.

    I know 2014 will be great for you and yours, Katy!

  16. YES, 2013 was The Year of Suck, no doubt about it. I’m sorry you had to endure so much in just one year, and am so grateful you’re doing well and have a wonderful-sounding new job!

    2014: Get Ready!

  17. How wonderful that you were able to get to the end of this dreadful year with appreciation for all that you have. Wishing you a happy, healthy 2014.

  18. In my darkest days, I used to make myself feel better by telling myself that it couldn’t get much worse (it always can, but I just ignored that). I also did like you did–focused on the good things that come from the crap basket life delivered to your door. You never appreciate the good stuff until bad stuff happens. May 2014 be filled with health, humor, and love!

  19. With a year like that just think how 2014
    is going to be :) :) Smiles all the way :) :)

    Happy New Year

    Andro

  20. I hope your 2014 is immensely better than your 2013! You deserve it.
    My 2013 (and half of 2012) really sucked too, and the biggest lesson I came away with was why I had to forgive. I didn’t start to heal until I forgave all those I felt had hurt/betrayed me. “Forgive but do not forget. Forgiving changes the perspectives. Forgetting loses the lesson.” Paulo Coelho

  21. Wow. . . I knew about the concussion and before I went into full battle mode with 2013, I knew you had gone quiet. I’m sorry that it was such a bummer year, but it’s pretty neat that we decided to take the same path professionally. We’re a few weeks into 2014. I hope it’s going well for you and continues to get even better.

Talk to me.

