The Pain in My Head is a Pain in the Arse – and Where’s the Pizza

Migraine

Migraine sufferers:  Napolean Bonaparte, Thomas Jefferson, Robert E. Lee, Ulysses S. Grant.  Lewis Carrol, Emily Dickinson, Virginia Woolf, Signmund Freud, Nietzche, Whoopi Goldberg, Julius Caesar, Elvis, Me.

I have had a migraine for the past 2 days now.  Unfortunately, these were the last 2 days of the college classes I teach.  I drugged up and tried to go on.  This is not always a good idea.  The slurred speech, inability to concentrate or complete a full sentence – outward manifestations of my malady.  On more than one occasion I have had employers, friends, family members , strangers and policemen suspect that I was under the influence.  I was under the influence, all right, of dilated blood vessels in my head.

The unseen effects:  nausea, often advancing to outright vomiting; photophobia – the inability to tolerate light; olfactory disturbances which often includes smelling disgusting things that are not there.   Like burnt toast, cat feces, and diesel fumes.  I can tolerate neither noise nor silence. Visual disturbances that begin before the pain – the aura.  There are gray holes in my vision – that part of my sight is simply missing.  The rest of my visual field is wavy, like looking through a falling sheet of water.  Then in the throes of the migraine, colors appear brighter, sharper – almost too bright to tolerate and stationary objects appear to be moving.  It’s a trip…

And a throbbing, stabbing unrelenting pain in my head – behind my eye and down toward the back of my neck.  Once the pain has subsided – my scalp is tender and there is a “zinging” sensation with any movement of my head.

I know I will live when I start to feel ravenous; but I am not nearly well enough to forage for food.  As a young mother, I kept the pizza menus near the phone. My boys would, upon being given the thumbs up, order a pizza (and take money to pay for it from the envelope marked for that purpose). I associate pizza to this day with headaches and illness – needless to say it is not one of my favorite foods.

My children spent an inordinate, guilt-producing amount of time taking care of me instead of the other way around.  I often had 3 or 4 migraines a week – the kind that sent me directly to my bedroom, where the shades would be drawn, music played at just above a whisper, and no one moved around me because their motion would make me violently ill.  Once when I neglected to keep the pizza envelope funded, my older son (7 or 8 years old at the time) rode his bike to a deli to get me a cup of soup after emptying his pockets, piggybank, and scavenging the change compartment of my car to scrape up enough change to feed me.  I was filled with incredible admiration and abject horror that my firstborn was compelled to be the caregiver.  I spent too many days and nights in bed, praying they would not kill each other or burn the house down while I was incapacitated.

Medication is usually helpful but I occasionally will have a migraine that laughs in the face of modern medicine, and more than one emergency room visit was necessitated by intractable migraine.  There, unless there were visible manifestations (like puking my guts out) I would be treated like a drug-seeker.  My doctor friends tell me that drug seekers often claim migraine symptoms and are exceedingly persistent in their pursuit of “relief”.

I am coming out of this migraine – which is a good thing, I was supposed to be packing for my trek north.  Because I was planning on leaving  –  there are no groceries in the house.  Why doesn’t anyone deliver pizza at 7:00 am?

11 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Uncategorized

11 responses to “The Pain in My Head is a Pain in the Arse – and Where’s the Pizza

  1. Bless your heart! You need you some pizza. BIG TIME. Wish I could bring you some.

  2. k8edid, I hope – by now – your fully out of the migraine. My sister battles them, too. May the trip up north be relaxing and pain free. ~ Lenore

  3. Am so sorry to hear about your migraine misfortunes. But on the positive side, your trip to the north could solve the issue — at least I hope it does so you can enjoy your summer!! Feel better!! — Sandy (msmouse7)

  4. tsonoda148

    Sure hope you’re feeling better and enjoying your weekend! I used to have migraines back in my 30s and early 40s. They were everything you described. I was rendered completely useless when in the middle of one. Bad memories. So sorry you’re suffering from them.
    I found out I had high-blood pressure in my 40s, and thankfully, they put me on a blood pressure med that also treats migraines. I haven’t had a migraine since. Amazing.
    I assume your blood pressure is ok, but if you haven’t checked it, make sure you do. Just saying…..
    Feel better!
    Terri

  5. Poor thing. I have two sisters who suffer migraines. Reading your description reminds me of all the near-dead days and sleepathons they’ve endured just to get one to go away– even with the Imitrex injections and whatever other new drug was around. Hope you’ve recovered and get a good break before another one hits.

  6. Rachel

    my mom gets migraines too, i’m sorry yours are so bad! your son, though, reminds me of my little brother (now 20). get better soon!

  7. Thanks for the well-wishes. I came out of the migraine just as I got a call about my grandmother passing away – so have been travelling since then.

  8. You describe the migraine experience so well. Yuck! Double yuck!
    Just a few weeks ago my husband came home to find me surrounded by cartons of chinese take out. Sound familiar???
    But I have to say that Topomax has been a life saver for me. I have been on it for quite a while as a preventative and I never wake up with a pounding head anymore.
    Because of a back injury (I was mugged and beaten up) my back doctor put me on Neurontin and since then I haven’t had to take any rescue meds at all! It’s been amazing. If you want to talk migraines I know the drill. Had them since I was a kid.

    • Let’s just not use the M word right now….I’m glad you get relief with your medications…I only get 3 of 4 headaches a year, now instead of 3 or 4 a week, so I just try to muddle through. Mugged and beaten up? Yikes…

      I enjoy your blog very much.

  9. Pingback: Grandma – Rest in Peace | k8edid

  10. My sympathies … I’ve had a few migraines in the past [well wouldn’t know if I’ll have them in the future!!] Thank you for your comments on my blog and nice to meet you!

Talk to me.

