LE = [H(tv) * -22min] + 3E – Sm[(15yrs*10/2) *22min) – SLS*22min – O/2*22min

I was intrigued by this article http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/44156412/ns/health-fitness/?gt1=43001 that states, basically, for every hour of television Austrailians watch, they lose 22 minutes off their life (not to mention the hour they waste when they could be cyberstalking people).  Just how bad can Austrailian television be?  Probably not any worse than our American offerings, so I started doing a little calculating.

The same article references a Tawainese study that says 15 minutes of exercise (walking, particularly) a day adds 3 years to your life.  Whew, I knew getting a dog was going to be a great investment…almost every day, at least 15 minutes…I’m golden.  I mean, I’m Shepherd.

Come on Mom, let's walk!!

But wait – smoking (a habit I’ve given up not once, but twice) 2 cigarettes also takes approximately 22 minutes off your life.

As does a sedentary lifestyle (crap!)

and obesity (XXL crap!!).

So, according to my precise calculations…..

LE – Average life expectancy for a white female in the US is approximately 80.8 years.

H(tv) – hours of televsion watched (A great many, but I’m not counting the hours I snoozed while Sweet Cheeks watched golf (zzzzzzz) or baseball(ZZZZZZZZZZZZ).

3E – 3 years added on for exercise – walking 15 minutes (come on Shelby, let’s take a walk, I know it is both raining and 100 degrees out, but do this for Mommy, please).

SM – smoking (probably 15 years total,  1/2 pack a day)

SLS – sedentary lifestyle –  dammit, I am a speed typist, doesn’t that count for something?  No?  okay.

O – Obesity, yeah, I’m working on that but it is a slow process, and I haven’t always been overweight (especially when I smoked – Hmmmmmm). So I’ll take  O divided by 2.

According to my precise calculations, I died last week.

7 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, humor, Uncategorized

7 responses to “LE = [H(tv) * -22min] + 3E – Sm[(15yrs*10/2) *22min) – SLS*22min – O/2*22min

  1. Dang, K8. You look great for being dead! (smile)
    I didn’t follow your mathematical figures because formulas make me break out in hives. I chuckled loudly with your comment about how Australian TV must be pretty bad.
    Recently, I pulled out my nordic track from it’s one year retirement. Haven’t used it yet. Too much good stuff on TV and too many people to cyberstalk.

  2. Sorry about the hives – it’s just a pretend formula, anyway, don’t let it scare you. Exercise equipment usually makes a good clothes hanging spot in my experience so put that nordic track to good use.

  3. I’m not good at following formulas either but there’s gotta be a + number added for laughter. And you gave me that 🙂 Thanks.

  4. TV, TV on the wall, who’s the oldest of us all? Ha, ha…I like your formula…it keeps us mindful in a healthy way…oh dear, I only walk from the parking lot into the classroom building coming and going (no shepherd in tow which must be more vigorous).

    • Since I got Ms. Shelby I have walked 10 times more than I ever did before. She makes it fun and knowing that she is looking forward to it so much does inspire me to turn off the tv and pick up her leash. So maybe I will live until next month!!!

      She is very well behaved, though, and doesn’t pull at all on her leash. So it is only as vigorous as I make it.

  5. Pingback: Mr. Man will not deter me today | Lenore Diane's Thoughts Exactly

Talk to me.

