Damn You, Blank Page

Damn you, blank page, What are you thinking?

No words appear, cursor silently blinking.

No idea explosions, no inspirations rock me

Pristinely, emptily, blankly – you mock me.

Where are you, muse? Hiding again?

I thought we were buddies, I judged you a friend.

You leave me here struggling, digging so deep

That I pack it all in and try for some sleep.

Deep in the night, an idea – inspiration!

I fire up the laptop, forget trepidation.

The words will come spilling, tumbling out

I’ll finish this work, a Masterpiece, no doubt!

Wait.  Stop, Idea.  Where are you going?

Muse, get back here – There’s no brilliance showing.

My elation’s short-lived, my confidence sinking

There on the blank page, a lone cursor blinking.

Damn you blank page.
What was I thinking?

29 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, humor

29 responses to “Damn You, Blank Page

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Pretty good for a blank page 🙂

  2. This is what happens when I try to write while medicated.

  3. I find it so amusing how much we writers write about writing! I think I have 100 poems that echo your very sentiments here. Mine, however, are less witty and never use such excellent rhyme scheme! I usually skip over poems about writing, but very much enjoyed this one! 🙂

  4. Ah, must have been invisible ink on that blank page You used the lemon juice and light bulb expertly!

  5. LKD

    Writing about not writing should be a genre, Or is it?

  6. The Blankist School…i like it. continue…

  7. Oh the blank page. Everybody’s nightmare. And an inspiration coming in the night – too tired to get up and do anything about it and OMG it’s completely gone in the morning. So now I have my trusty notebook at the side of the bed for when those inspirations do come.

    • Oh that bedside notebook… I, too lost many great ideas (so they seemed) just as I was drifting off to sleep. I thought the bedside notebook would be a great idea. Alas in the morning all I faced was a mass of gibberish, nothing made sense and that great idea was no where to be found. So I tried keeping a small recorder by me and to no great surprise THAT was all gibberish in the morning. And it had the added bonus of making me sound like a stoned groupie for the Grateful Dead. I gave up on late night inspirations and accepted the fact that I am just destined to not realize those fleeting insights until they are ready to see daylight.

  8. The best poem about having nothing to write about, ever. Can I steal it? I’ve been struggling, myself.

    • You, struggling? I forget that we all struggle with this issue from time to time – the rest of you all seem to be so prolific and make it seem effortless.

      Steal it? How about your just borrow it (within guidelines, of course).

  9. clapclapclapclapclapclapclap

    Excellent, K8! Bravo!!

  10. “A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” – Thomas Mann

    I wonder how long it took him to write that?

  11. When I look at the blank page, I find myself thinking “Stop staring at me!” And that is without medication. 🙂

  12. tsonoda148

    Oh the dreaded blank page. And your described it so very well! Imagery is everything, but the image of a blank page leaves ya hanging. Love this clever and witty expression of writer’s block angst! Your muse isn’t very far away, I’m quite sure.

  13. I actually found it pretty funny, on top of being a good evocation of those periods of writer’s block. One method I have developed is relaxing, concentrating on breathing and allowing my own mind to be as comfortable with blankness as the page, right at the very moment I feel this sort of anxiety. All at once, the muse reappears!

  14. Great writer’s block frustration portrayed! Loved it! 🙂

Talk to me.

