Sea Love – For my Husband on Sweetest Day

Sea Love - copyright Val Erde

 When I first saw this artwork “Sea Love” from Val Erde I thought of my favorite “swimming hole” here in Florida.  “Swimming” is a euphemism for wading out in the water far enough that no one can see me in a swimsuit.  The spot I have in mind is the Gulf of Mexico off Gasparilla Island State Park near Boca Grande.  You know, where the Bushes (Sr. George H.W. and Barbara) spent a few weeks each winter.Boca Grande is a quaint little touristy town where iguanas wander the streets at will, bougainvilla seems to always be in bloom and gorgeous banyan trees line the streets.  The beach stretches on and on, and there are no less than 5 State parks along the island which ends at Boca Grande Pass where Charlotte Harbor meets the Gulf of Mexico.  In August the water temperature can reach 86-88 degrees, and while it is not refreshing – it is soothing and restorative.  In the summer, we have been the only people on the beach for long stretches of time.  In the winter, snow birds enjoy the sunny respite from the frozen north.I have been to the beach at Boca Grande without my husband – and it was not nearly as much fun.  We usually pack a lunch, our beach umbrella, some books and some adult beverages – and make a day of it.  We planned on going tomorrow, but Red Tide has hit and it is looking like our beach day is not going to happen.

SEA LOVE

Beach chairs under umbrella shade

Cooler stashed, blankets laid
Camera, books, towels – all placed
Worries and troubles quickly erased.

Buoyant, laughing, splashing around
Playful joking, sea gulls abound.
Warm sand, blue skies, wispy clouds
The beach to ourselves – no winter crowds.

Soothing water, blistering sun

Restoring our souls; stress undone.
Soft rolling waves – sounds of the seas
Salty smell of the light summer breeze.
 
Sea love under August sun
Salty kisses, sunglasses and rum
Sweet embrace with sunscreened limbs
Lingering until the sunlight dims.
23 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Poems, Poetry and Poem-etry, Uncategorized

23 responses to “Sea Love – For my Husband on Sweetest Day

  1. “Swimming” is a euphemism for wading out in the water far enough that no one can see me in a swimsuit.” what a funny line. continue…

  2. “and it was not nearly as much fun” – speaks volumes to me, lovely pivotal detail in a beautiful piece of writing and thanks for the travel tip; this place is definately on my list of places to visit the next time we holiday in Sarasota.

  3. Captures the moment. Enjoyed.
    Best. Neil

  4. For a few moments, it was like I was there; now, having finished reading it, I wish I really were there.

    I love Val’s painting!

  5. Perfect. Just Perfect. 🙂

  6. Val

    Lovely post and I’m glad my painting could help inspire you. 🙂 Thanks for using and it and for the link/mention.

  7. Yes, ‘swimming’ becomes less and less of a social activity as we get older.

  8. Lovely poem. We took our honeymoon in Sandestin back when there was only one condo and one restaurant (Bubba’s Crab Shack). We deliberately picked the first weekend after Labor Day so we could have the beach to ourselves — and we did!

    • We love to go the beach in the summer time – if you can stand the blistering sun you can often have the whole place to yourself. Much of Florida has been overdeveloped, but you can still find spots of pure beauty.

  9. Wonderful. I really enjoy your poetry. Val’s paintings add a nice touch, too.

  10. My blood pressure was just lowered by reading your lovely poem and feeling such calm. There is nothing like the Gulf.

Talk to me.

