Home again – an Etheree

She

jumps up

When my car

Pulls in the drive.

So glad to see me

She can’t contain her joy.

Warm brown eyes seek out my own.

She follows me into the house,

Lies at my feet – asks only for love

And the occasional treat after tricks.

Asleep beside my bed, then bounding

Up at the sound of the alarm

Eager for outdoors, patrols

The boundaries of her world.

Anxious at jingling keys,

Knowing I will leave,

Be gone all day

And then I am

Home again.

Home.

Every morning when I leave, Shelby and my beloved husband see me off.   I see them in my rearview mirror as I drive away.   When I return at the end of the day, they greet me so affectionately.  That makes the leaving hard and the return joyous.  Like them, I cannot wait for that moment of homecoming, the simple joy of seeing the love in their eyes, and knowing I am responsible for the happiness on their faces.

My grandpa told me once “If you ever meet someone who is always as glad to see you as your dog – marry them”.  Good advice.

Shelby waits for Mama

27 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Uncategorized

27 responses to “Home again – an Etheree

  1. Very wise grandpa.
    Wonderful post. It takes the chill out of the cool weather that’s coming and makes me so happy to be home. Nicely done.

  2. I once read in a psychology book about the benefits of having a dog. To put it scientifically they said, “Dogs excel at welcoming behaviors.”
    I’ve always loved that sentence.

  3. Very well done! I really need a dog…. My two idiot cats are nothing like what you posted here…. 🙂

  4. a beautiful poem…and a beautiful Shelby. continue

  5. This is such a sweet and loving poem. Warms my heart 🙂

  6. Lisa Wields Words

    Wonderful poem and celebration of love. Dogs are the best. I love your grandp’s wise words.

  7. One of my dogs always greets me at the door, gives a bay of hello. The other would love to, but the bed is soooooo comfy he just can’t seem to make it. He gives a little whap-whap-whap with his tail, though.

  8. What a lovely tribute to both of the special somebodies waiting for you at home!

  9. Aw! As a Mom to two dogs, this means so much to me, K8. I love the fact that you created an etheree in Shelby’s honor. Oh yes, and it was nice to include your husband, too. 🙂 Wonderful! Absolutely wonderful!

  10. Lovely poem and such great wisdom from your grandpa! 🙂

  11. jacquelincangro

    Reggie is sitting next to me as I read your post. Coming home is the best part of my day. He is always so happy to see me, whether I was gone 5 minutes for 5 hours.
    Lovely poem and a very wise grandpa. I will keep his words in mind. 🙂

  12. tsonoda148

    Love this post! Shelby’s beautiful!

  13. I love your grandpa’s advice. I plan to pass it on to my children.

  14. I remember being told much the same by a wise old man. And I did.
    I love your etheree. I have had a few tries at producing one and now am going to try once again.

    • I like them becauset they start with one syllable – and no matter how “blocked” I am, I can come up with one syllable. Then just build from there.

Talk to me.

