NaNoWriMo – Uh, Oh, Here we Go

NaNoWriMo_1

Today was the first day of National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo.  Today was also the first day of full time employment.  I don’t know what the hell I was thinking, but I signed up and I’m going to give it my best shot.

Illustration depicting thought.

Image via Wikipedia

I was up at the crack of 5:20 am, wrote a bit, went to the pool (where I do some of my best thinking but unfortunately can’t stop to write my ideas down and by the time I hit the locker room I’ve usually forgotten all the brilliance).

We joined friends for dinner after work.  I got situated and got down to business.  I’ll be posting updates and excerpts from time to time (but probably not many new posts over the next few week).

Today, I wrote 1899 words.

First paragraph I wrote:

“I didn’t kill them” my brother said softly after we had finished our meal.  He was huddled over what had been a huge plate of pancakes like he expected someone to come after the remaining soggy crumbs in the puddle of syrup.  Maybe that was how prisoners ate, I thought, hunched over their plate to protect it.”

Final paragraph:

“I’ll call you.  I won’t just show up in your jurisdiction” he said, his eyes twinkling.  “Miss Jody looks like she could use a foot massage.”

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo – Uh, Oh, Here we Go

  1. 1899 words is a pretty good start, especially considering that you are working and doing other things. I hope I pass 1000 tonight.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. Doc

    The opening sounds promising. Good luck! I never even considered doing this even though I would have loved to. I just can’t see how I would find the time, though if you’re serious you MAKE the time! Maybe next year for me…

  3. jacquelincangro

    Congrats on getting 1899 words in one day. That is really impressive! Keep up the good work.

  4. kba

    Sounds great, but I really hope you´ll still have time to blog!!

Talk to me.

