Ways NaNoWriMo is Kicking My Butt

Nano 2011 badge

1.  I have spent my entire working life trying to produce grammatically correct, concise, meaningful output.  The whole “diarrhea of the brain” concept of pounding out 50,000 words in 30 days is not only foreign to me, it is exceedingly painful.  My brain cannot concoct a sentence without editing it, looking for imperfections, and correcting them.  It is, as I have said, both literally and figuratively painful.  I have always firmly believed that one should think before you speak or write, and I can’t just shut that off.  I would also prefer to write one perfect sentence than a page of crap.

2.  I started working full time on the day I started the writing project.  There is a steep learning curve and in the next week we expect a visit from one of our accrediting agencies.   Can you say “Nut Case”?

3.  My employers expect me to actually work while I am on the premises.  Bastards.

4.  I am suffering from extreme stomach aches again, and in true hypochondriacal fashion, have diagnosed myself with everything from pancreatic cancer to fetus in fetu .  Therefore, I have convinced myself I may not make it to the end of the month and I can’t fathom spending my final days hunched over this laptop when I should probably be shopping for a shroud, writing my obituary, preparing my own eulogy, and rewriting my will to leave my earthly belongings to my dog.

5.  I have 15 of the 17 symptoms of menopause mentioned in my post “It’s Not the Heat.  If I don’t get some decent sleep soon, I’m probably going to do something that will land me in jail (but at least I’ll have lots of time to write!!!).

6.  I miss spending time with my sweetie, my blogging buddies, my blog, my dog, wine, cooking and believe it or not, even television.  I know.  That’s sad. Really, really sad.

7.  My best ideas come to me in the pool, while driving, or while at work in the middle of a meeting.  Unfortunately, I cannot remember these ideas unless I write them down.  Immediately.  I spend more time trying to remember what I thought was brilliant than I do actually writing.

I am at approximately 3500 words with a writing session scheduled yet tonight.  Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

25 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, humor

25 responses to “Ways NaNoWriMo is Kicking My Butt

  1. I am right there with you. It will be an interesting month to say the least.

  2. LKD

    I am currently involved in today’s second word splurge, using Write or Die. This kills my internal editor, for now. I highly recommend it, if you haven’t tried it before.

    http://writeordie.com

    Also take a tape-recorder/notebook to work so you might record those fleeting ideas. If people accuse you of talking to yourself, work it into your novel!

    Lorna

    • Write or Die looks creepily fun…I may just try it. I think I can use my phone for a mini recorder, or little notepad, but haven’t come up with anything to use in the pool. It is 1/2 hour of freedom for my brain while I waterjog….

  3. I would be far more likely to do the 50,000 words in a month if I was not told I had one month to do it. And if I could pick the month in which I would write. Resistance to authority, I guess. Here you have written many, many perfect sentences and no crap whatsoever. Hang in there.

  4. c’monnnn…u just dashed this off, and it’s witty, droll, pointed…all those good things. and u have 35,000 words done. i’m not buying it girl. 🙂 # 6 is always the killer. has anyone complained about your not remembering to shower yet? no? than it’s all good. work u husky, work. continue…

  5. tsonoda148

    But are you having fun yet? I’m loving it! I am just like you on your Number one so that’s holding me back from flying, but I don’t care. My characters are bouncing around in my head, just waiting for me to get them out there. Sort of like a coming-out-party! Or……not. Anyhooo, keep up the good work and words. You can do this.

  6. Sorry, but I had to laugh at your situation, Well, maybe not your situation, but the post about your situation. I just go an iPhone 4S and use the Siri (personal assistant) to constantly make notes, reminders. And it’s fun to use too!

  7. I am impressed with you for taking this on. I’m not sure I could crank out even a few hundred words a day! Will we be able to read your finished story? I’m sure it will be great, whether you think so or not.

    And I’m with you on getting ideas in all the wrong places. I usually get mine in the shower or on the treadmill. Trying to scribble something down in a notebook while jogging isn’t very productive.

  8. At times like these, you might want to think in terms of averages–let’s hope you have days when you can pour out 10,000 words to make up for the days when the words just dribble out. In the end, whatever you get is more than what you had at the beginning. And that’s great!

    • You’re right, more than I had before the 1st day. I do love writing, just wish I didn’t have to do it when I am mostly brain-dead at the end of the day.

  9. Lisa Wields Words

    Sorry I missed this post yesterday. My advice, focus on writing. Just write. I mean, I am a firm believe in shitty first drafts, but that doesn’t mean I don’t craft sentences as I go. If your writing style requires a slower approach, then screw NaNoWriMo. Just write, and if you are enjoying the process I bet you will get there in the end anyway. I would rather read a well-crafted novel of 30,000 words than a crappy novel of 50,000 words, especially when I know that to get to those well-crafted 30,000 words it probably took the writer 100,000 words of rewriting.

    • I can already see a lot of stuff I’ll be cutting out and reworking, but that’s okay. I’m moving, at least, and that’s more than I could say last week.

  10. #7 – I can so relate. Thousands of Pulitzer-winning ideas have evaporated while I took time to park the car or towel off.

    Good luck on the new job and congrats on all the writing! You’d be inspiring me to write, if you weren’t exhausting me vicariously.

  11. Seems I quote Dora from Finding Nemo often…. Keep swimming, keep swimming. Er, rather … Keep writing! Keep writing!

  12. jacquelincangro

    Wow! 3500 words already? That’s pretty amazing. I’m so impressed. Keep up the great work.

  13. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: Day 11 | My Writer's Cramp

Talk to me.

