Monday Moanin’

An old style alarm clock.

Image via Wikipedia

Monday morning, here again.

Alarm clock sounds, moans begin.

Hurried breakfast, shower then race

To do my hair, put on my face.

Highway’s packed. Commute begun.

Road rage attitudes, blinding sun.

Texters, twitterers, phones to ears.

Skillful maneuvering, shifting gears.

Sunday drivers, one day late!

Careening around them, get irate.

Coffee splashes and radio blaring.

Commute then ends amidst the swearing.

Into the parking lot just on time

Solid day’s work, to make a dime

Pack it all up, head back to the ranch

The traffic’s worse! my face does blanch.

Into the driveway, home at last!

The evening passes much too fast.

Repeat four times; a weekend and then

Monday comes –  we’ll do it again.

12 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Monday Moanin’

  1. I loved this! Describes the work week perfectly.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Gosh I miss actually working…… 🙂

  3. What? What? I can’t hear you because of all the moanin’ (coming from me). Perfect start to the dreaded Monday.

  4. You’d think we’d have those flying cars by now. Do you think we’d still have traffic jams with those?

  5. Clever! I love the line about Sunday drivers, one day late…brilliant! 🙂

  6. Monday is the best day of the week, everyone of to work and i don’t have to any more 🙂

  7. As Mark says – gee I miss driving to work each day. 🙂

  8. did you write this while you were driving? or supposedly working? 🙂 well done in any event. continue…

  9. I love it! Your poem is spot on. FBing this now 🙂

  10. I’m bowing down to you. Bowing down, K8. Bowing down.

  11. Love this–someone should put this to music, K8edid!

  12. tsonoda148

    This was fun, witty, and oh so true!

Talk to me.

