Playing with Food

I am without Internet at home. It is going to be a long, long holiday. I am going to have to try to keep my husband for having a fit of apoplexy, especially if Comcast doesn’t show up Friday morning as promised.

I suppose everyone in the world has seen the video of the “flour” disaster (I say it’s staged, but I’ve been wrong before). It got me to thinking how we should use more food items in our artistic endeavors, and little sponteneity with our food.

Once, when I was bed-bound during a particularly horrible migraine, my young son was messing around with stuff on the kitchen table and knocked off the container holding the stick of butter. Remember stick butter? It was delicious. Being the wonderful son that he was (is) he attempted to clean up the mess.  The more he tried to clean, the shinier the floor and everything got, so he spread the butter over the entire kitchen floor.  Then he practiced skating move s  (I could tell by the telltale butter stains on his socks and the swaths left in the slippery mess).  Now that would have been a video…

Anyway, as if you won’t get to look at enough food in the next few days, enjoy some of this food art.

Art with Salt

Creative Food Manipulation

Food exhibits

Cool Art with Food Items

Food art

When your kids can come with something like this, then put the video on You-tube!

 

Thank you all for being such good blogging buddies – I will certainly count you among my many, many blessings.

16 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Playing with Food

  1. omg…I can picture it…you’re laughing now right? But not back then.
    So sorry the internet is down. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. Lisa Wields Words

    Sorry the internet is down. You know I understand. A creative challenge to distract you, make some “art” out of some of your feast tomorrow. Seriously, maybe it a competition. Who knows, it could become a new tradition. Take pictures or video so you can share when the internet does come back. Go on . . . I dare you! 😉

    Or, just simply enjoy your day. Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. How did we live without the internet? Enjoy your down days and we look forward to your return.

  4. Food art! My second favorite thing to do with food.

  5. What do you mean “remember stick butter?” We have stick butter. You mean that you don’t? I figure that the natural cholesterol of butter is less bad for me than the chemicals in the fake stuff, and much better than the fats in margarine.
    I may be merely justifying it, but I love butter.

  6. tsonoda148

    Happy Thanksgiving Katy! I’m very thankful we’re bloggy buds. Take care!

  7. I once dropped a quart of maple syrup on Easter Sunday morning. And quite a bit of it went UNDER the refrigerator. Can’t go sliding on that, but you can be really surefooted when you practice your yoga moves.

  8. happy thanksgiving all. don’t play with the giblets. continue…

  9. Well, I thought dropping a pound of coffee was bad, but you win. I can’t even fathom how to clean a butter off the floors, walls, and carpet. I suppose you could throw pancakes on the floor, adding to the art and hope the sop up a bit of the grease.

  10. I’m with you on this–food can be so much more than calories. I once had an outdoor food fight. It was a blast! That’s the kind of fun I like to have with food. 🙂

  11. The same goes for you! I hope yesterday was a blessing, and that you’ll be able to see that I said so on a connected computer shortly. 🙂

  12. —Great story about the Butter 😉 Classic. X

    I should try that on my wood floors!

  13. Funny… I didn’t think the flour mess was staged, but I do think she came out, saw it all, then got the camera and came back. You don’t just walk out of your bathroom, feeling ill, with a Handycam in hand.

  14. My 2yo got in the butter not too long ago (no tub margarine in this house) but she just rubbed it all over herself. She did decorate the carpet with Hershey’s chocolate syrup, though. That does not come out easily, either.

  15. We only use stick butter! And, I can easily visualize a greasy and shiny mess on the kitchen floor. Tom Cruise could have had an even better slide had butter been used. Hmm…. perhaps butter was used.

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, K8. I also hope Comcast did as promised.

  16. Thank you for being such a great blogging buddy, as well! Love stick butter…have even been known to buy some European thing called ‘plugra’ delicious!!!

Talk to me.

