Miscellaneous Miscellany & Caption Contest Throwdown

Bread rolls

Image via Wikipedia

It has been a very long week.  We were without internet last week (and had to talk to each other for goodness sake).  We have spent 32 years perfecting our not talking routine…which involves a few universally understood hand gestures, meaningful looks, blowing of kisses and some rather easy to interpret body movements along with the occasional Post-it-Note.  The internet only enhances our ability to communicate wordlessly – without it we were sunk.

I was lucky, I got to go to work, where I do have internet and have been known to occasionally (well, okay….frequently) check my e-mail and blog info.  I also have a smart phone, so can check e-mails, internet, etc (although it gives me a headache to do so).   My husband, not quite so lucky…home all day, no internet.  No smart phone.  I feared for the Comcast guy’s life – my husband was a little beside himself by the time normalcy (?) was restored.

Then Thanksgiving.  Away from home and family.  It was a sad day for me.  We did have a lovely dinner with friends (and all I had to cook were the homemade honey oatmeal rolls and a loaf of bread).  I had nearly forgotten how wonderful it is to make homemade bread – how therapeutic the kneading of dough, how sweet the smell during “proofing” and how marvelously butter melts on a still-hot-from-the-oven dinner roll.

Migraine

Image by librarygrrrl via Flickr

Then, several days of intense migraines.  By intense I mean being terrified that I would die from the pain, then being terrified that I WOULDN’T die from the pain…but I survived.

AWARDS – I have been nominated, yet again, for the Versatile Blogger award by Barking in the Dark and Years Struck.  While I thank these blogging buddies (please check out their blogs if you haven’t already) – I have been nominated for the award 8 times now and I will have to pass on most of the requirements of the award.

Rubik's cube

Image via Wikipedia

Except the 7 things about me…

1.  I can solve Rubik’s cube.

2.  I have not figured out how to put the “award” logo on my blog so that others will know that I have been so recognized.

3.  I relish being versatile.   I can write some pretty silly stuff, stuff that will make you cry (makes me cry, anyway), recipes, beadwork, and boring vacation photographs.  Where else can you get all that?

4.  I also relish relish, it is so tasty

5.  I make a mean pot of chili.

6.  I do not have a middle name, not even an initial.

7.  I have an amazing husband, but I forget to tell him sometimes.

And, saving the best for last……

I am once again a finalist in the Good Greatsby’s Caption contest.  I happen to think Darla’s caption (She’s a Maineiac) is funnier.  But she has taken some time off from blogging, so I’m hoping she won’t mind so much if I win.   Maybe she won’t even notice, even though it has been her life-long dream to win the darned thing once and for all.  Honestly, I felt so bad that her monkey, Mr. Skittles ran away from home and came to stay with me for awhile the last time we were embroiled in a caption contest throw-down.  AND Pegoleg and I hijacked her blog post and ate all of her snacks in the process.  So get yourself over there and vote for me, or Darla.  Or any of them.

Thanks.  Now I have to go get caught up on my reading.

39 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, humor

39 responses to “Miscellaneous Miscellany & Caption Contest Throwdown

  1. With no Internet, the wife and I would kill each other within hours…. I hate you for being able to do that Rubiks thing…. I do good to get three squares of the same color on each side…. now I have a hankering for chili…. please pass some through your pc….my bowl is waiting….. thanks 🙂

  2. My Dad does have a middle name or middle initial, either.

  3. Ding dangity … that would be ‘doesn’t’. Stupid typing skills.

  4. Always fun to read your posts, versatile as they are :-). Glad you and your net are both better.

  5. How often can I vote for you – just did it again and it looks as if you are out in front there. Rubiks cube has me totally flummoxed – words are more my thing. I am a whiz at crossword puzzles bu that danged cube!

  6. K., your posts are always witty…rubik’s cube eh? hmmm…continue…

  7. Don’t worry about me. I am on break, but I’m still here, barely alive. I have temporarily lost my ability to write posts for my blog, this is true. And it seems my penchant for witty banter has faded. But after the medicine kicked in, I was able to sit up long enough to read your blog post today. You really gave me a good chuckle, so good that I started choking uncontrollably and my daughter (who was up all night last night with a fever and croup) had to pat me on the back until I could breathe again. Thanks for that laugh, albeit a painful one. Your caption is infinitely better. Sure, we all know Twilight sucks, but to know that grandpa might be blown to smithereens is comedy gold. I wish you the best and I know you will be a great Caption Contest Queen.

    P.S. I’ve shipped Mr. Skittles UPS overnight express to Shanghai.

    • Oh my, Darla. I’m so sorry I made you choke..
      Would you like a bowl of chili?

      • Oh, I would love some! Colds make me hungry. Can you also come over and show my son how to solve the Rubik’s cube? He can only manage to get one and a half sides done at a time and it’s really doing a number on his self-esteem. How many minutes does it take you to solve it on average?

      • I just finished a bowl of Wendy’s chili before I read this. What does it all mean????

      • See, I can never remember if you are supposed to feed a cold and starve a fever, or the other way around, so I always eat just to be on the safe side.

        The Idiot, last week, insinuated that perhaps I had poisoned my current husband (like how I said that?) because I said he wasn’t feeling too well, and I was contemplating choices for husband #3. Somehow the discussion became about poisoned mushrooms.

        So when the Idiot commented that he “hated” me – me, sweet, lovable, versatile k8edid, I offered him chili, then sent him a virtual bowl…mushroom added. Of course, I would not stoop so low as to poison YOUR chili just to win a caption contest. At least I don’t think I would. Hell, I don’t know, I might. But I digress.

        I think I can solve the cube in about 5 minutes. Like I said, not tournament speed. I learned to do it as a teenager and just kept it up.

      • Oh crap. (drops spoon into bowl with a loud clang) I really wish I had read this about 10 minutes ago–pre-chili. At first I thought you added too much pepper, but now I understand why I thought I saw a milliion tiny Mr. Skittles coming out of the walls and dancing on the ceiling all wearing GG’s smoking jacket with tiny pipes. What the hell did you put in this…? Gahh!…(cough, cough…heavy breathing, slow choking sounds) The room is spinning now. Oh god. It’s getting dark, so very dark. And it’s so hot–help me Mr. Skittles! Save m—

    • Oh, thank God I used the mushrooms from the first shelf and not those other ones…you’ll be alright in about 12 hours, when and wherever you come to…

  8. I think you and Darla/Darly definitely have the best captions and I am alternating my votes. And I know that, when victorious, either of you will use the awesome power of the office for the good of mankind.

    p.s. Is Mr. Skittles still flinging his dung all over to get attention?

    p.p.s. Sorry about the migraines – I’ve been spared those but my sister suffers and I know they are a bear. Hope you don’t have any more coming any time soon.

    • Peg, according to my calculations, Mr. Skittles is flinging a dung-filled diaper straight at Mr. Greatsby’s smoking jacket right about now. Serves him right. Maybe next time, he won’t put my caption up against the other much funnier ones and I’ll have a chance.

      P.S. I am also sorry about the migraines. I have them sometimes and they are horrible. Glad you’re feeling better and internet is back.

    • Peg, thanks for your vote(s). Of course, I would use the powers of the office for the good of mankind, especially the part about the snowballs, because I do have a freezer full of them.

      Wendy’s chili, yummy.

  9. Not having the internet is bad; having the migraines is worse. I know because I get them, too. I feel your pain quite literally.

    You are a versatile blogger. The way to get the logo on you page is to right click on the image and copy the URL. Then go to your Widgets on your Dashboard. You should have an option for adding an image. Drag that over to your sidebar of active Widgets and open it up. You can name the Widget “Awards” or just leave it blank. There’s a box that says “URL address for Image” (or something like that). Just do Control-V (paste) and the URL address should appear in the box. Save it and check your page. You may have to fiddle with the width and height. If you do, email me @ dizzylorna@hotmail.com and I can help you with that.

    One less headache… 🙂

    • Thanks, Lorna. I’ll work on that – I am also working on my blogroll, as well.
      Migraines really do stink – especially for me, part of the “aura” that I get is an intense sensitivity to smells, and then I also smell things that are not there, like cat poop, ammonia, and burnt toast. It is truly unpleasant.

  10. I have to move the stickers around on the cube. Otherwise, no way.

  11. Congrats on your award! How in the heck do you do a Rubik’s cube? I’m very impressed. My daughter solved it once in her crib, but I realized she peeled off all of the colored stickers and re-stuck them on so they’d match.

    • There is a series of moves that you can memorize to use depending on the presentation of the colors on the cube…once I figured it out (memorized the moves) I was less impressed with anyone who could do it, but I do enjoy solving it…it exercises my fingers and makes my brain work a little.

  12. –Congrats on ALL of your awards. You. Rock. X

  13. Psst! Your caption is funnier!

  14. I voted for you! And you are winning! Woohoo! Congrats on all of your winnings!

    • Thanks – I guess I’ll settle for these awards since Barbara Walters hasn’t contacted me to be on her “Most Fascinating People of 2011” show. Sigh. Well, maybe next year.

Talk to me.

