How Do I Love Thee? Hmmmmm……

Lenore, you said it was time for a poem – this one is for Sweet Cheeks, of course.  Hope you enjoy. 

Early 20th century Valentine's Day card, showi...

Image via Wikipedia

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love that you’ve been mine for 11,840 days.

I love that you still find me the girl of your dreams.

Despite menopause, depression, and a few primal screams.

 

I love that you adore me, that you think I’m the best.

Even when I’m lazy and “comfortably” dressed.

Your faith in me never wavers – your love is absolute.

Your ability to love me is your best attribute.

 

I love that you think I’m brilliant; you believe that I’m funny.

You overlook that I’m more “vinegar” than “honey”.

I love that you eat whatever it is I have cooked.

I love the way you stay so easily hooked.

 

I love that you cover me up when I’m sleeping like a log.

You check my car’s oil and take care of my dog.

Your Post It Note love letters, your “no occasion” bouquets.

I love that you express your love in so many ways.

 

I love that your heart is mine, of that there’s no doubt.

Your loving gestures are evident – day in and day out.

So this Valentine’s Day, I am happy to recount

The ways that I love you – it’s a freakin’ huge amount.

Valentines heart

Image via Wikipedia

21 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Poems, Poetry and Poem-etry

21 responses to “How Do I Love Thee? Hmmmmm……

  1. Awwwwww! You’re a sweet, sentimental ol’ softy and your Sweet Cheeks is one, lucky guy.

  2. I love that you think I’m brilliant; you believe that I’m funny.

    You overlook that I’m more “vinegar” than “honey”.

    Brilliant & Sweeeet.
    Xxx I love this.

  3. Oh my goodness! I am working remotely today, and I just blubbered in a public place! What’s worse – I’m going to have to blow my nose!!

    This is beautiful, wonderful and just plain awesome, K8! One of my favorite spots of your poem came early: “I love that you still find me the girl of your dreams. – Despite menopause, depression, and a few primal screams.”
    I know that thing called ‘primal scream’.

    Thanks for sharing another one of your wonderful creations, K8. Love it!

    • Well, if I made you sniffle then my work is done…

      Thanks for the kick in the butt – it had been a while since I had a crazy rhyming session – and this one was fun to write for my sweetie.

  4. This was perfect. You are the Queen of Poems. I also loved the line
    Despite menopause, depression, and a few primal screams

    And, yes, your husband is a very lucky man.

  5. How sweet. Happy Valentine’s Day, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. Awww, I absolutely love this. Bravo!

    Lisa

    • Glad you liked it. We agreed not to buy cards or gifts for each other – our trip to Miami over the weekend to see friends was our little “romantic get-away”. So this is all he gets from me this year.

  7. Yay!!! Excellent. My hub eats whatever I cook, too (so grateful is he when I actually cook, LOL)!

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Katy! 🙂

  8. BRAVA!!! What a PERFECT valentine for your old man…he should be a happy guy. continue…

  9. The freakin’ huge amount of love in this poem is the best thing I’ve read about all day!

  10. Super loving expressions of true emotions;
    a special gift you’ve written for your special man.
    Beautiful,
    Isadora

  11. Brilliant! Lizzie Barrett Browning would approve I’m sure!

Talk to me.

