Envy – Post 1

All right, folks – time for another round in the Deadly Sins Series…here are some of the great entries I’ve received so far.  You still have another week – so get those keyboards fired up, people!!!

Slap some coffee into that filter and let’s get this show on the road.  Enjoy!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

First up, from Darla at She’s a Maineiac:

Darling’s Cupcakes

When it comes right down to it, I guess I just didn’t want to come out. Who would? My mother never fails to tell my sisters how I howled as the doctor clamped down and yanked me from her uterus, a lifeless ragdoll. “You came out and lawd have mercy, you were bluer ‘n your Daddy’s eyes! We thought you were dead!” But I wasn’t. Not yet. Course, I always knew the real reason I didn’t want to enter this world–my older sisters.

But time marched on and I had to come out eventually. And for us Darling girls, timing was everything–it defined us for all eternity.  First out of my mom’s womb at 12:32 am was Stacy, flushed a rosy pink from her hearty cries. Then along came Tracy at 12:38, Stacy’s identical in every way with her perfectly round head, long feathery lashes and dewy soft skin. Me? I was the odd one from the start. And they always made sure I knew it.

My sisters were shining stars in our little town.  Boys always coming around, pacing on the front porch with flowers for one or the other. I sat in my room, watching from the window. “Tootle-loo, Lexy!” they’d sing.  I can still hear their fake laughs and the door slamming as they ran off to another party without me.

That all changed with my mom’s new cupcake business. If there was one thing she could do in life, it was bake a good cupcake. She started whipping up exotic flavors one afternoon, key lime pie with buttercream, red velvet with a dab of cream cheese in the middle and topped with dark chocolate fondant.

Soon my two sisters were standing by her side in the kitchen, the three of them wearing matching aprons dusted with flour, giggling and singing and making them damn cupcakes. They sold out the first few batches at the local flea market and not long after that Darling’s Cupcakes was born.

I let them have their cupcakes. I never liked to bake anyway. But the day I walked by the Royal River and caught a glimpse of Stacy on her tiptoes reaching up to kiss Jacob’s cheek my feelings about cupcakes changed.

Over dinner one night she told Mama that my sweet Jacob was going to marry her. She needed 200 vanilla buttercream cupcakes for the wedding guests. I offered to help. Mama was shocked and more than a little pleased with me. I spent hours melting that butter in the pot, stirring and stirring to get it just right for the frosting. Mama loved my idea of creating two extra special cupcakes for the bride and groom. I fixed them up real nice, added food coloring to make them pink and topped them with tiny hearts cut from raspberry fondant.

It was supposed to just scare her. Make her a little sick is all. I wanted to see her face as she threw up pink cupcake all over Jacob as they kissed.  I measured just the right amount into her cupcake, or so I thought at the time.  I served the happy couple my creations with the biggest grin I could manage. How was I to know how strong that rat poison would be?

By the time I noticed them feedin’ each other and the wrong cupcake crossing Jacob’s lips it was too late. I did my best to try and stop him. By the time I knocked the cupcake out of his hands he was choking and turning purple.

They say I’ll get a chance for parole in 12 years.

I’ll never have Jacob.

But neither will Stacy.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Next up:   K.L. Richardson at Closing Time

The Anniversary

 Kelly always said her parents were two of the hardest working people she ever knew.  Unfortunately, there were six siblings so she had to fight for every scrap she got whether material possessions or love.  Her absentee parents created a void in Kelly; as she grew so did the envy in her heart.  Now married she still was not content. If another womans’ husband liked the theater, Kelly envied that. Another she envied because he bought his wife expensive jewelry, yet another for the lavish trips the husband provided.  So she got what she wanted from other women’s husbands.  Just enough that her husband wouldn’t get too upset and so that the other wives would never catch on (after all they were just friends).

Her husband Phil was a forgiving man; content with what he had without ambition or pretension.  He loved Kelly but realized that she could never be happy with just his love. Something in her was broken; he just didn’t know how to fix it.  He would buy her gifts but they never seemed to be good enough. He felt that if he could get just the right gift then she might be happy and not feel the envy he knew was hardening her heart.

As Kelly’s envy grew so did her claims upon other husbands.  One day she became entangled with a man whose wife was not willing to give up without a fight.  Kelly didn’t know what the woman did; oh, she knew that this wife dabbled in the “arts” somehow, but not being a creative person herself she just didn’t ‘get it’.  She knew that this man loved his wife yet still had a craving for attention, a void like Kelly’s, waiting to be filled.  She also knew that this man was willing to spend on her, and spend he did. Kelly got  jewelry,  trips and rides on his motorcycle.  Eventually it took a toll on his relationship, his wife began to notice, protesting the so-called friendship.

Phil knew an important anniversary was coming up; he was determined to pick the perfect gift.  If Kelly would love it, and him as well, it might be the gift that would keep her content and at home. While Kelly was gone Phil took that time to shop around; he haunted all the small shops and boutiques hoping to find that perfect piece for his wife. One day he wandered into a small shop that he hadn’t noticed before.  Lots of colorful silks, jewelry and sculptures filled the store, creating a most magical aura.

As his eyes became accustomed to the candle-lit atmosphere he noticed a woman approaching, inquiring about his needs.  He was hesitant at first, but after awhile poured out his heart along with his story.  Phil felt that this woman could see into his heart, somehow knowing the importance of that gift.  Together they looked over the items in the shop, many of them hand-crafted by this woman herself. Phil finally chose a teak statuette, carved by the owner herself, portraying a lady with a look of longing that reminded him so much of his beloved Kelly. The shopkeeper cheerfully rang up the sale and Phil took it home.

Phil never got to give his gift to Kelly.  Despite his inquiries no one knew where she was, not even her “friend” who, oddly enough turned out to be the shop keepers husband. But unknowingly Phil did get his wish, Kelly never did leave home again. She stayed right on the oak mantle where Phil unknowingly put her on his return from the boutique.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 Next – an offering from Lorna at Lorna’s Voice

“Behind the Mask”

She could see it in their eyes. That’s why she never looked at them directly; well, at least not at the women. Men’s eyes revealed the kind of poison she knew how to swallow, but not the women’s eyes. She had no antidote for what they injected straight into her heart.

She’d seen that look many times before.

“Don’t stare at me. I told you it ain’t polite to stare at people,” her mother said to her reflection as she watched in little-girl wonder at how powder, mascara, and lipstick created a mask, transforming her mother’s sallow, withered face into something close to radiant.

“You’re so pretty now, Ma. Can you teach me how to put that stuff on?” she said.

“Not on your life, Missy. God knows where you got your looks and you sure as hell ain’t gonna whore yourself up under my roof. Now get yourself outta here. I got a friend comin’ over and I don’t want you gettin’ in the way.”

She was nine. Or was she eight when this happened? Maybe it didn’t happen. She often lived in a fantasy world. That’s what her mother said with a disdain that suggested she needed a cure for this unfortunate condition. She liked to think she had a vivid imagination, but what she thought didn’t matter.

She knew about her mother’s “friends” and how they looked at her. She also remembered her mother’s narrow-eyed glare at her when she caught them looking. It was a hard look that said, “Why do you have to be so damn young and pretty?”

If only she could make a mask like her mother made, maybe she could become someone radiant like the sun—someone her mother could love; but that didn’t happen.

She learned how to make her own mask, though; and she became someone else she never could be without the mask. Behind the mask, she didn’t care that women envied her for her beauty and sensuality or that men only loved her for what—not who—they  saw. The mask and her imagination took her places she never expected. Then again, she never expected much.

She made a career out of being the woman behind the mask. Most men fell to their knees in her presence. She learned how to make them hers when the mask was in place. Most women were drawn to her and some emulated her as best they could. There was magic in the mask and these women wanted it badly. Imitation wasn’t, she found, only a form a flattery; it was a form of premeditated murder. Women wanted her gone. And so the acerbic stares continued, as if their stinging rays could pierce and dismantle the mask and the woman behind it.

When she was alone in her bathroom and all that remained of the mask was smeared colors on so many tissues scattered around her, she was naked and bewildered. Without the mask to define her, who was she? Adored goddess? Bitch?

She glared at the remnants of mask as if she was one of those plain women, her eyes muddled with the same odd concoction of adoration and hatred she had seen all of her life, and said, “I want to be just like you. You have it all.”

The mask stared back from the bits and pieces around her. It whispered, “And I wish I could be just like you. You are the one who has it all.”

She grabbed a marble soap dish and threw it at the mirror.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

18 Comments

Filed under 7 Deadly Sins Writing Contest

18 responses to “Envy – Post 1

  1. Great entries. And what a fun series.

  2. Darla, I am impressed. And scared. And making a note to never, ever accept baked goods from you 🙂

  3. These are excellent! I’m… what’s the word… I feel a gnawing anger that these are so good and that I should be getting this attention… shoot, I’ll think of it…

  4. Darla-D-Woww, I’m very envious of your writing.

    Not so envious that I won’t offer you this delicious, sweet pumpkin cupcake. Muwahahahahaha!

  5. These are great entries and I think the judges will have a tough time choosing a winner, again!

  6. Three great story’s, it will be hard to judge.

  7. Some great storytelling going on here. And that green-eyed artwork is fabulous k8edid 🙂

  8. Wowza, yet again! Y’all have way too much talent – this is another one that will be tough.

  9. These are three fabulously written stories on the subject “Envy”.
    I can see a lot of very talented people have submitted some wildly creative stories. I love the way everyone approaches the subject challenge in their own way.
    Very nice …
    Isadora

  10. Right out of the gate I have to say, I am currently envying those able to read in a quiet environment without being interrupted.

    In other news, these are fantastic! Off to read more, while envying silence.

  11. Haha, I love the Teak-i doll!

Talk to me.

