All About Today – July 15

July 15 is an important day.  Very important indeed.  It is St. Swithun Day.  Swithun was Bishop of Windsor from 852 to 862 AD.

The name of Swithun is best-known today for a British weather lore proverb, which says that if it rains on Saint Swithun’s day, 15 July, it will rain for 40 days.

St Swithun’s day if thou dost rain
For forty days it will remain
St Swithun’s day if thou be fair
For forty days ’twill rain nae mare

A Buckinghamshire variation has

If on St Swithun’s day it really pours
You’re better off to stay indoors.

So, yeah, looks like it is going to rain for another 40 days.  We’ve had about 15 inches of rain so far this month, so this isn’t exactly a welcome concept.  But this is Florida and it typically does rain each day in the summer, so I guess this is a non-news story.

In REAL news, however, it is National Ice Cream Day.  Designated in 1984 by President Ronald Reagan, the 3rd Sunday in July is National Ice Cream Day (all of July is National Ice Cream Month!)  This is news worth celebrating.

Sweet Cheeks retirement plan – he found 15 cents, 3 bottle caps, and a Bic lighter that day at the beach.

But the real reason today is important, is that it is my beloved husband’s birthday.  Yes, Sweet Cheeks.  I wanted to just take a few minutes to recognize this fine man for all that he does.  His love and support are never-ending.  He is so even-tempered, logical and steady that he is a steadfast foil for my moodiness, snarkiness and sometimes mercurial emotions.  He is the perfect straight man.  He thinks I am smart, and funny – even when I am not.  He does not complain when I spend hours working on lessons plans or spoiling my grandchildren.  He does not mention my hoarding tendencies for beads or shoes.  He would do anything in the world to make me happy, and when I am sad, or lonely or unhappy – his pain equals (or seemingly exceeds) my own.  He is romantic, thoughtful, honest and kind.

If you look in the dictionary for the expression “salt of the earth”, you will see my husband’s picture.  Sure, he’s not perfect – he is mechanically inept, never met a container or package he couldn’t mangle, and shouldn’t be allowed to dress himself – but he is perfect for me.

So, Happy Birthday Sweet Cheeks.

39 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, Uncategorized

39 responses to “All About Today – July 15

  1. Oh oh. It poured today and we have flas flood warnings. Guess St. Swithens is accurate.
    And I am so on top of National Ice Cream Day, but thanks for another excuse to eat ice cream in honor of Sweet Cheeks birthday. Here’s to many more!!

  2. Tell Sweetcheeks Happy Birthday from me! And in honor of this special day, buy him a Frosty in my name and have him eat it standing in the rain.

    • Peg, is that you? On the weekend? What gives?

      I’ll tell him. Soon as he comes in from the rain. After getting me ice cream…

      • Frosty ice cream, Katy. I got up at the butt-crack of dawn for church, then commenced to paint the ceiling of my new screen porch for 6-1/2 hours. Now the pain in my neck is back and I’m only 2/3 done with the job. Nuts. I came in to the office to relax and do some interwebz surfing in air conditioned comfort, but got stuck on the phone instead. Time for ice cream -great idea!

        • Oooh, sorry about the neck pain…I took Sweet Cheeks to the beach today and got myself pretty sunburned…the Gulf of Mexico was so warm and nice, there was a lovely breeze. A young lady came up to us and asked if we were on our honeymoon!!! I guess we were holding hands, hugging and laughing in the water – and she thought that was so cute. I told her it was his birthday and I had to be nice to him today!!!

          • Oh Katie – a long time ago, well about 20 years my darling and I were on holiday in New Orleans. A couple on our tour asked us if we were on our honeymoon too – we had been married 33 years but we told her yes, anyway!

  3. It was sweltering hot from Northern Massachusetts to Northern VA. So Noah is going to have to find another seaboard on which to float his boat.

    Happy B-day to Sweet Cheeks!

    • I wish we could share some of this rain with the parched parts of the country. THe other day at work I waded through ankle deep water to get to my car in the parking lot – it had rained so hard for so long the drainage system gave up…

  4. St. Swithun?! Geez, Those English, huh?! What language is that anyway? I was fully prepared to go on and on about how the English ruined our language before they gave it to us and they should be damn happy that we fixed it for them.

    Then you changed the whole blog into a salute to Sweet Cheeks! What can I say about him, except that I’m jealous. His wife is clearly crazy about him and has even given him a nickname to prove it. For the record, my wife has bestowed a nickname upon me as well, but there may still be children up reading blog comments, so I’ll leave well enough alone.

    Happy birthday, ya big lug! Now get out there and find my Rolex!

    • Ha – they think we’ve ruined the language.

      I have a great many nicknames for my beloved. Many are not repeatable in polite company. But he is a good man, puts up with my BS and makes me feel beautiful and loved. A girl could not ask for more (except maybe some Butter Pecan).

  5. Our lawn is turning brown up here…we need some rain!
    Tell your sweet hubby happy birthday!

    • I am tired of rain, truly. I rained for a weeks straight with Tropical Storm Debbie. Our drainage ditch out front is full and Sweet Cheeks “claims” he saw catfish in it. Of course, he was holding a beer in his hand at the time and I have yet to see these elusive catfish. Sending rain thoughts your way. Have you considered a rain dance? Video would be appreciated.

  6. Katie – isn’t it wonderful when you meet the one who is perfect for you. Happy birthday Sweet Cheeks. And oh St Swithun – we can do without his interference here. It’s still raining. 🙂

  7. A wonderful birthday wish for someone who obviously helps to make
    your life a litle more interesting everyda …. AND … if that isn’t enough – loves you for what you just wrote. So very Happy Birthday to you Mr. Sweet Cheeks – since, I do not know the real name – lolol – I think that is okay Kate – okay??? Anywho – nice lil write you rit here,
    Toodes,
    Isadora

  8. Loving the ice cream and the rain–we’re in a drought, so bring on both!

    Happy Birthday to your good man!

  9. Happy birthday to your sweetie!

  10. Tee hee. You packed a lot of goodness in this post, Katy! Happy (belated) birthday to Sweet Cheeks, The Perfect Straight Man! Hope you had some ice cream, hold the rain.

  11. Noooooooo!!! I missed National Ice Cream Day!!! Nooooooooo!!
    What’s worse…. I missed Sweet Cheeks birthday!!! Dang.
    Happy belated birthday, Sweet Cheeks! I am glad the two of you had a great day. This was a great post!

    • But did you have ice cream? It’s National Ice Cream Month all month long, so there is still time.

      We did have a great day (even if I did get sunburned a bit).

      • Well, I suppose I’ve had ice cream in July. But Katy, I should have had it on Sunday. I think this means I need to get in the car and go get some Phish Food tonight. I don’t think Rob would appreciate it.

        I am sorry you got a bit sunburned. That is no fun. No fun at all.

  12. Happy birthday to him! Hope the metal detector yielded a good gift, like a gold molar or something.

  13. And you failed to mention the nicknames that everyone else calls Sweet Cheeks. Jason and I refer to him as “Scoots McGruber”. And our hellions, all 17of them, call him “Bumpa”.

    • Ah, Yes. Bumpa. Bump-man. Bumpy-Bump. Scoots McGruber is a great name for him.

      I almost put in his other nicknames, but that would take all day, and many of them aren’t used in polite company.

  14. Happy belated birthday to your sweetheart. Such a sweet tribute to him.

  15. Excuuuse me, but did you say National Ice Cream Day?)))))))))))

    Happy Birthday to Sweet Cheeks 🙂

  16. I heard an ad today that the National Dairy Council wants us to eat more icecream and help out the dairy farmers, so it’s a civic duty and community sustainability act to shovel in the jamoca almond cream.

  17. I’m loving his “retirement plan.” Hope to join is ranks someday. And Happy belated Birthday to him.

    Isn’t any day, ice cream day?

Talk to me.

