Lust: The Winner is…

 

Lust

Lust (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Despite my best efforts to laze about – using “recovering from surgery” as an excuse – I find I must re-enter the world of productivity – kicking and screaming all the way.  I’ll be returning to work in less than 10 days, and I find myself wondering how I ever managed to exercise, commute, teach, plan, write, blog, snuggle my pup, and occasionally speak to my spouse each day.

It is all I can do to wander from the desk to the sofa, to the table to the desk, to the sofa, to the table…you get my drift.  I keep discovering posts I missed while either under the influence of powerful drugs or snoozing the days and nights away.  I’m trying to catch up.

The deadline for voting in the “Lust” Round of the 7 Deadly Sins writing contest was noon on Saturday and the winner is:  Lorna from Lorna’s Voice.  Her entry:  I Want, I Need You, I Love You” was spectacular.  Congratulations.  Once again – a donation will be made to the charitable organization of Lorna’s choice and her name will be placed in the Wall of Fame over on the left of this blog.

I have to say that I was more than impressed with the quality of the entries.  The voting (for finalists) was extremely close.  This contest has been so much fun and I appreciate all of you who participated.

So, at some point in the near future I’ll resurrect the submission box and prepare the next round…for now – I must move to the sofa…

27 Comments

Filed under 7 Deadly Sins Writing Contest

27 responses to “Lust: The Winner is…

  1. 1) Congratulations, Lorna! 2) k8edid, I’m so sorry to hear about your surgery, but I’m glad you’re recovering. 3) Concerning your wandering from sofa to the desk and back while you recover from surgery: Someday, you might look back on this period as the best paid vacation you ever had, because you weren’t on the hook for anything and you have a buzz going from the medication. I missed 2 weeks work once for an appendectomy, and it was great. I’d wake up, take my pain medication, walk around a bit, watch The Price is Right, nap.

  2. Hope you are healing well, Katie. Congrats to Lorna!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Lorna, big congrats! (Although I’m way tired of losing to either you or Dave all over the place).

    Katy, take it easy with that recovery – don’t overdo that computer to couch commute.

  4. Congratulations, Lorna! Loved your story. No more competition? Really, has it been stressful for you…I was thinking of giving it a try myself but will try to stay “detached” from the outcome… Ha, fat chance of that… I’m an HSP too, you know!

    Katy, sorry to hear of you having to go through surgery…just recovering from the anesthesia alone can keep you down for a while…and those “good” drugs can too. Take care of yourself.

    Gayle

    • Gayle, thanks for stopping by…I certainly hope you will write some entries, as well. Anyone can submit an entry and ask that it not be considered for competition if they wish, that’s what I do.

    • Thanks Gayle. I highly recommend joining in on the competition. I’ve had so much fun writing these essays. But, yep, I’m not cut out for the thrill of the competition. It won’t stop me from writing, though. I have to see what my character is going to do next!

  5. Congatulations to Lorna …. a well deserved win. It was among many great write but the best always rises to the top. You are incredible….!!!!
    YOU WILL submit … and … YOU WILL compete. Come on now … it won’t be the same without you. ~~~~ : – (
    Get more rest, Kate. I can’t imagine being back at work so soon. I take forever to heal. i’m glad I’m retired. HAHAHAhaaa …. right – I only run my business from home and it never ends. Well … at least, I ca n take a nap when I want to since I’m the boss.
    Toodles,
    Izzy

  6. I have to say, I felt a bit naughty, even a tad dirty when I read those lusty submissions! Congrats to Lorna!
    Keep healing, Ms. Katie-do!

  7. ((((((C O N G R A T S !!! ❤

  8. Thanks so much. It was way too much fun writing about these naughty things–especially for a Buddhist! 😉

  9. Congrats, Lorna! A most excellent job.

    And Katy, you are a trooper. (Also? Please don’t EVER feel obligated to catch up on my blog!) I like you under the influence, but not quite like this.

  10. Congrats, Lorna! And I’m going to say again that I hope you keep entering, your writing is wonderful.

    Katy, just checkin’ in with you to see how you’re holding up? Hope you’re feeling better.

    • Oh, Darla – thanks for checking in on me. I have been doing okay – just kind of listless. Gearing up to go back to work and wondering where in the world I will get the energy to not only work all day, but commute 1 hour each way…and kind of sad that my summer is over…

  11. Congrats, Lorna! Really well done.

    Katy, hope you’re recovery is very speedy. You are definitely a trooper, my friend.

Talk to me.

