Reports of My Death Are Greatly Exaggerated

Although, about Thursday evening, I might have asked for someone to at least check my pulse.

Actually, what was greatly exaggerated were reports of my recovery after surgery.  After an initial, but brief, surge of energy and enthusiasm, I once again was faced with an extreme lack of energy, an overwhelming amount of work to do, and a body that couldn’t live up to what my brain conceived as possible.

For once in my life, I have decided to listen to the body that screams “Stop”.  Fortunately, I have assistants at work who won’t let me lift anything heavier than a soup spoon, who anticipate my needs taking care of things as they did while I was on sick leave, and who send me home early.  I have students who remind me to sit instead of pacing in front of the classroom, and a husband who shoulders the responsibilities of caring for a mouthy, non-compliant patient at home.  I am resting whenever possible.

I am taking another week or two to recover and regroup.  I will be back soon to continue the “Deadly Sins” series and regular posting.  I hope that you will all come back.

45 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

45 responses to “Reports of My Death Are Greatly Exaggerated

  1. Take care, sweetie. Hope you feel back to “normal” soon. (Hmm, Katy wonders, what is the significance of the quotation marks around the word normal?)

  2. Can’t rush these things…take it slow. Well, I guess you’re being forced to..see you when you’re able to continue, Katy.

  3. We aren’t going anywhere, Katy. I am glad you are listening to your body. And, I am glad you are surrounded by folks who are making sure you are listening to your body. Listening is a drag sometimes, eh? 🙂

  4. Feel better soon, Katy.

  5. –Thinking of you today :))))

    • I’m thinking of you, too. Every time my sis calls me, or I see a picture of us together – I think of you and your beautiful sister. Thanks for the visit and the thoughts.

  6. Take it slow, Katy. Listen to your body. Sleep. We’ll wait until you feel better — hopefully soon.

    • The more I rest, the weaker I feel. So I get up, move around and feel energized – for about a half hour…Then it’s back to the recliner with my feet up and eyelids down.

  7. I agree with Lenore Diane, we aren’t going anywhere. We know you’re worth waiting for.

  8. Just take care of yourself and don’t worry about us. We are able to entertain ourselves until your return…why I could stare at my belly button for days…..

    • Oh, look. There’s an incision in mine!!! Thanks K. for popping in – and for the beads. I’ve been far too lazy to actually do anything with them, but I will.

      • I understand totally! It takes a lot of strength to recover from a cold much less any kind of surgery. Besides I may have some components that well hang around my table for years before they find the right piece to fit.

  9. …Can you drink yet? 😉 Speedy recovery for the sake of your sanity!

    • Imagine my horror when I was informed that I may NEVER be able to drink carbonated beverages again!!! As in BEER. Thank goodness for liquor, though.

      • Really?! No carbonated beverages? Why?

        • I can’t belch because of the modifications they made to my stomach…so all those bubbles would likely cause great discomfort. Or so I’m told. I might try a few sips this weekend.

          • Is this a temporary thing? Didn’t you have a hernia repair…sorry I don’t mean it to be twenty questions…lol…but I had a hernia repair and they never said a word to me about belching. Of course it could be that I appear so lady-like that it never crossed their minds (NOT)! Well in any case hope the problem is resolved and you are back on your feet soon.

            • It depends on the type of hernia and the type of repair. Mine was a hiatal hernia and they closed the top of my stomach up pretty tightly. I do still belch, although my surgeon says it is from my esophagus and not my stomach. One day the call of a cold beer will tempt me enough to try – right now I am enjoying being pain free.

  10. I have had to do the rest & heal thing in the past & I know how difficult it is. Hang in there – it gets better! I wish I had had a blog while I was recovering.

    • Rest is an enigma to me. When I rest I don’t feel rested. I feel lazy, stiff and sore, and grumpy. I guess I need to learn to achieve a balance (as if!!).

  11. Rest up, feel better, drink plenty of fluids, put your feet up and watch bad reality shows.

    • Oh, man. The television is the worst part of having to rest…I’ve read so many books – more than I have in years. I listen to a lot of books during my hellish commute, but I have been ready ACTUAL BOOKS. With pages. And I remember why I don’t do that much any more…once I get started, I don’t know when to stop.

  12. Hope you regain your strength soon.

  13. Of course, Katie. You’re doing the right thing by listening to your body. I ignored mine for too long, and the consequences are now, quite unfortunately permanent. Rest and come back swinging!

    • It’s not I really have a choice, either. I just shut down when I reach the end of the stamina. Whether I’m home or work, I just have to put my head down and crash…

      I will be back soon, and I’ll be swinging.

  14. We’ll keep the light on for ya’, unless the light is bothering you while you try to sleep . . .

    The down-side to being late on reading is everyone already said the important stuff: take care of yourself and here’s hoping you’re feeling better very, very soon.

  15. Comply, my friend, comply. Rest, rest, rejuvenate and renew. We will look forward to your return, whenever and however exaggerated :-). Take care, k8edid.

  16. Hoping you feel rested and energized soon, Katy! You’re very missed but we’ll be waiting right here. 🙂

  17. Pacing is HARD. Keep trying to listen to your body and when that doesn’t work your friends. You will get better soon. 🙂

  18. We’re not going anywhere, Katy! Rest up and pamper yourself, so I can win the next contest. 😉

  19. Pingback: Reports of My Death Are Greatly Exaggerated – Part 2 | k8edid

Talk to me.

