Thinks and Thanks Giving

When I was young (about 1,000 years ago) my mom would explain, in a patient and loving way, the errors in my way of thinking by telling me “you have another think coming”.  As in “If you think you’re wearing that miniskirt to school, you’ve got another think coming”.

Thanksgiving at the Trolls

Thanksgiving at the Trolls (Photo credit: martha_chapa95)

So today, I’m going to give out a few thinks, and a great many thanks.

To the patron at WalMart this morning at 6 AM (don’t ask.  Well, okay, I said I would bring homemade dinner rolls to our friend’s dinner but forgot to check my yeast supply):  If you think wearing a heavy jacket, gloves, daisy dukes and flip-flops is a fashion statement – You’ve got another think coming.

To the cashier at WalMart:  If you think drawing your eyeliner to the hairline at your temple is a good look for you (or anyone) – You’ve got another think coming.

To the Black Friday Shoppers – if you think that is the best way to support our economy – buying cheap foreign goods at corporations that don’t even pay taxes – You’ve got another think coming.  I’m going to spend the day trying to find local businesses to support on Small Business Saturday.

 

Detroit Lions logo

Detroit Lions logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To the Detroit Lions – if you think I’m going to spend another Thanksgiving watching you lose a football game – you’ve got another think coming.  I’m going to take a nap.  Or read a book.  Or anything else.

To my family – if you think because I moved away I don’t think about you every single day – You’ve got another think coming.  I think about you and miss you every single day.  Sometimes to the point I have to fight the urge to keep driving north on the way home from work.  Sometimes to the point I lay on the couch and cover my eyes with my arm and weep softly because my arms miss hugging you, my eyes miss your faces, my heart misses your hearts.

To my readers and followers – If you think I don’t appreciate this creative community – this outlet, the sharing of thoughts and feelings – you definitely have another think coming.  “Meeting” you all has broadened my horizons (and my backside from all this sitting at the keyboard and hours reading “just one more blog”).  And I appreciate you all.  You make me laugh, think, cry, learn and feel.  Where else can you get all that?

I hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving.  If you think I’m going to count calories today – you’ve got another think coming.  On this Thanksgiving – I am so thankful for family, friends, work, play, and loose stretchy pants.

What are you thankful for?  Do you have any more “thinks” coming?

36 Comments

Filed under humor

36 responses to “Thinks and Thanks Giving

  1. I think this is the perfect Thanksgiving post. I will have another think coming about it, but I think that the result will be the same.

    Happy Thanksgiving! I’m glad to share the sphere with you, Katy!

    • Thanks Elyse. I’ve often wondered if the “think” coming to me will just spontaneously appear or if I have to go searching for it. Hope your holiday was nice.

  2. I thinks I’m glad for people who care about me. And I’m glad you’re happy enough to be thankful.

  3. This post made me laugh! It’s sweet and snarky … luv it 🙂 I’m not a sports fan, but the one about the Detroit Lions is my fav … “I’m going to take a nap” lololol … Tweeting this now 🙂

  4. Happy Thinksgiving! I am also appreciative of loose pants.

  5. I’m not sure why, but I can’t substitute the word “think” for “thing” without adding a Werner Klemperer-style German accent. What’s that mischevious Colonel Hogan up to now?

    I’m thankful for you, K8edid, for making WordPress, and therefore my world, a better place.

    FYI, I’ll only be watching as much football as I can see from my station in the kitchen.

  6. Thanks to you, I did get a new “think”–I’ve been bemoaning Black Friday’s very existence, but forgot about Small Business Saturday! I’m in.

    Today I am thankful for so, so very much, I can’t even fathom where to start. Perhaps for now I’ll just stick with one thing, the book Room, which has made being sick not so very bad at all. I don’t think I’ve ever read such a riveting, beautiful, all-around terrific book. It gives me new perspective on the life outside its pages as well.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Okay, I just ordered the book on CD from the library – I’m always looking for something good to listen to on the soul-sucking commute.

      Small Business Saturday is becoming one of my favorite things! Sometimes I am still disppointed if the small business is selling foreign goods, but I try to support local business when I can (pre-dawn yeast purchases notwithstanding).

      You are welcome for the new “think”.

  7. Amother think coming was hexed often in our house too Hspot Thanksgiving Katie

  8. That should of course be Happy Thanksgiving Sorry this tablet has a mind of it’s own

    • Happy Thanksgiving to you, Judith. Hope it was nice. I love how devices try to figure out what we are trying to say – I can’t even figure out what I’m trying to say most of the time.

  9. “another think coming” was very popular in my parent’s house when I was growing up & carried on into my home when my children were at home. Love the saying & if you think you’re not appreciated, you’ve got another think coming. Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. If you think I’m glad that I’m subscribed to your blog, you’re right.

    What? Is that not the way you play the game? 😉 A perfect post.

  11. Thanks for giving all the thinks.

  12. Hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving. Silly me, I watched the Lion game up until overtime. The whole time I was silently telling myself, why bother? they’ll just lose anyway. And they didn’t disappointment me.

    • Oh, Darla – we’ll never get back those wasted hours watching Detroit lose. That time would have been better spent packing food into our pie-holes and loosening our drawstring pants. Oh, wait…we did all that (at least I did). Hope your Holiday was WINNING.

      • It was winning for sure. I managed to put away TWO pieces of pie, one pumpkin, one apple. During overtime, I knocked back a glass of Kahlua. It made Detroit losing again that much easier to handle.

        • Tar-Buns

          Yes, it was sad to see the Lions defeat themselves AGAIN. Then the Cowboys and the Eagles lost as well – all my TH picks sucked.
          I’m now wishing I had some of the leftovers from my folks’ house. Some dressing and gravy would be yummy right now…..drooling…

          • Oh, I know. No leftovers = no midnight turkey sandwich with a side of dressing…

            I said I wasn’t going to watch the game but everywhere I was, it was on…so I pretended I was ignoring it and even when they had the lead, I knew it wouldn’t last…

  13. Catching up today, I think this was just perfect. No, I know this was just perfect. I don’t know which think was the best but I know some of them made me giggle a bit and some brought on a bit of a tear.

    I hope you had a wonderful day yesterday, even missing your family (I understand this one).

    • Yes, it was a good day. I hate that I wasn’t with my family – and hate that my family didn’t have that big gathering of food-laced laughter. I did spend time with friends and it was good. You can’t always get what you want – but sometimes you get what you need…

  14. Great post. If you think for one second I haven’t missed you, You’ve got another think coming!

  15. *** cover my eyes with my arm and weep softly because my arms miss hugging you, my eyes miss your faces, my heart misses your hearts.^^^

    Ahhh, My Favorite. Xxx Lovely.

  16. If you think we don’t feel the same way, Katy, you’ve definitely got another think coming!

    I feel guilty for buying one think, I mean, thing, on Black Friday, but it was in the name of blogging, so, I’m telling myself that justifies it.

  17. Awwww…sorry you’re so far from your loved ones. Sending turkey-stuffed, after-Thanksgiving hugs your way. Console yourself with the fact that lower Michigan got the first hefty snowfall of the season this weekend and YOU MISSED IT!

  18. Still, I’m sorry to see think go. I don’t mind revisions of famous quotations (“gild the lily”) or proverbs (“the proof is in the pudding”); even epicenter (for “center”) doesn’t raise my hackles. But “You’ve got another think coming” is a bit of wordplay; substituting the meaningless “thing” erases the entire point of the phrase. Unfortunately, it looks inevitable – for now.

Talk to me.

