Easy Lovin’ Chocolate Lava Cake for Your Valentine

"All you need is love.  But a little chocolate now and then doesn't hurt".  Charles M. Schultz.

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt”. Charles M. Schultz.

 

Make these individual chocolate “molten lava” cakes and get laid lots of compliments from your loved one for Valentine’s Day.  Trust me.  Nothing says love like burning the roof of your mouth on the melty chocolate center of these little gems.

006

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Serves 4   (or maybe only 2 – one for your sweetie, 3 for you)

1/2 cup butter

4 squares semi-sweet baking chocolate

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar, divided

2 whole eggs plus 2 egg yolks

6 Tablespoons cake flour, sifted

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Fresh berries for garnish (optional)

007

In a medium sized microwave-safe bowl, melt butter (cut into chunks) and chocolate (broken into pieces) for about 1 minute.  Stir.  If butter is not melted, microwave in 15 second increments, stirring after each.

010

When butter is completely melted, add 1 cup sifted confectioner’s sugar and stir until smooth.

.011

Add egg and yolks and stir until batter is smooth.  Add vanilla extract and sifted flour.  Stir until smooth.  Do not over-mix.

014

Pour batter into 4 ramekins sprayed generously with non-stick baking spray.  Bake cakes for 12 minutes.  The sides will be set but the top will still be soft, but should not be runny.   Let cool 3-5 minutes.  Place inverted serving dish over ramekin, and turn over to release cake onto plate.

016

Lightly sift confectioner’s sugar over cake.

025

Decorate with berries, if desired.  Serve warm.

027

Enjoy…but seriously – don’t burn your mouth on the hot, gooey chocolate center.  It’s very hard to make out with burned lips and tongue.  Or so I’m told.

 

Happy Valentine’s Day all you crazy lovers!

 

Photo credits:  All photos property of k8edid.

28 Comments

Filed under General Mumblings, K8e's Kitchen

28 responses to “Easy Lovin’ Chocolate Lava Cake for Your Valentine

  1. Like.Like.Like.Like.Like.Like, etc.

  2. Did you really make that? It is beautiful!

  3. My son has an even easier version of this, but I have no idea where I’ve put it. These are so very yummy. Thank you for posting.

  4. A recipe?! This has Freshly Pressed written all over it!

  5. I want to eat this cake RIGHT NOW. Want. Mmmmm.

    I might just give it a try, though. 🙂

  6. Ohhhh God. My valentine is not much for sweets… but I might make these for myself.

  7. This looks real yummy! Happy Valentine’s Day!
    Lauren 🙂

  8. This is an easier one than I have, love it

  9. Oh have mercy. This is one of my all time favorite desserts, but I’ve never tried to make it.

    ….I just tried to make a joke as wordplay on “sweet cheeks” and it sounded so wrong. Sorry. This comment is not nearly as enticing as this post!

  10. Dear lord, this looks delish! So good I’d even risk a burnt tongue. Hope you had a sweet Valentine’s Day, Katy.

  11. I can’t think of a better dessert for Valentines Day! Well, it would be better if someone made it for me, rather than me making it for them…

  12. I think I shall make these little sins for Easter. Xx

Talk to me.

