Reports of My Death Are Greatly Exaggerated – Part 2

Last month I wrote a post about a dream I had where my mother (long deceased after a short and troubled life) visited me for tea.  That post was the culmination of a long stretch of days (weeks, really) fraught with deepening sadness and mostly sleepless nights that were punctuated by haunting dreams.  That post was Freshly Pressed, and after replying to comments and visiting the blogs of old and new followers and other passersby, I vanished from the blogosphere for a while.

But life went on.  Each morning, when I hoisted a 90 pound book bag into my vehicle for the trek to the educational emporium which employs me – this guy would be staring at me…

Maybe today is the day...she's moving slower...it won't be long... (Photo credit:  k8edid)

Maybe today is the day…she’s moving slower…it won’t be long…
(Photo credit: k8edid)

But life went on. In an epic battle – serotonin wrestled with norepinephrine about whose job it was to cheer me up, and after coming to the conclusion that joy was highly overrated – both neurotransmitters waved sayonara and abandoned ship, leaving me with a desire to punch everyone (including sweet little old ladies) in the throat; sleeping about 3 hours a night, and wishing my mom would come back and take me with her.  (PLEASE NOTE:  I am okay, really).

But life went on.  I started feeling a little better, sleeping became my new hobby, and writing seemed like a vague memory of something I used to enjoy.  My neurons stopped twitching. I began to see hope and joy in simple things, and felt like I was making a slow, if somewhat wobbly, recovery.  Then I checked the mail.  I’d received an invitation.

Scan0001

To a funeral home.

Related Post:  Reports of My Death are Greatly Exaggerated (Part 1)

29 Comments

Filed under humor, Uncategorized

29 responses to “Reports of My Death Are Greatly Exaggerated – Part 2

  1. Oh Kate, I don’t know what to say. Of course, I missed the Freshly Pressed post because I too had disappeared for a while. I’m sorry you are going through the struggle, but we’re here, we care, and you aren’t alone. Meanwhile I’m glad you’re not dead.

    • Thank you Lisa – I am feeling lots better – I think a break was exactly what I needed. I miss writing, though, when I am away and always find my way back.

  2. ~~Thinking of you, Kate.
    & sending love and hugs from MN. Xx

  3. One day, instead of credit card applications and free one-week gym memberships, my junk mail became littered with reverse mortgages, Hoveround Scooters and over-55 communities. Don’t let it get you down, Dollface, just slip a snort of vodka in your prune juice and go about your business. Don’t worry about the driving, no one expects us old farts to be particularly good at it anyway.

  4. Glad you are on the mend. There’s nothing like being bitten by mortality to cheer a girl up, is there.

  5. Hang in there. I’m rooting for you.

  6. I read and “liked” your “Tea With My Mom” but apparently visited before it was FP’d. Congratulations!
    Glad you are feeling better as I noticed you were scarce.
    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my early March post. Comments count as writing, too, I think.

  7. K8!

    I am so glad you are sleeping better. My grandmother visits me from time to time, and I find it so fabulous because I don’t often remember my dreams. But the dreams about her are different, so I tend to remember them.

    I am in FL, too! I know, right? There’s a crapload of us teacher-folk down her recovering.

    I’m so happy you were Freshly Pressed and that you were not dead at all.

    But I think your mother is still thinking of you.

    Or vice versa.

    Email and let me know which coast you are on. You know, so if I’m standing next to you in my local Publix, I might see you buying that prune juice and say hi! 😉

    xo

  8. Glad you’re feeling better. Sunshine makes a world of difference.

  9. I’m so glad you’re feeling better (and I hate to be the annoying person who asks this, but — didn’t you have a concussion fairly recently? Do you need to get this checked out?).

    Did you get a +1 on the invitation to the funeral home? I was thinking maybe you could take the vulture.

  10. That must have felt like a slap in the face! Glad to see you back. Happy Easter!

  11. I read the first, worried for you. I am glad it was Freshly Pressed, it was that good.

    This whole mortality thing, it bites sometimes but you know it isn’t really so bad. Just think of all the cool stuff you get just because you are getting a bit older….discounts at hotels, restaurants, theaters, rental cars, cruise lines (oh avoid them).

    I hope you continue to feel better, find joy in small things. I am not usually one to suggest shooting at things but, perhaps you could find a neighbor to knock off that vulture and send him to the Funeral Home.

  12. Now that HAD to make you laugh! Welcome back!

  13. Glad you’re feeling better. And soon the snowbirds will be gone, so the traffic will ease up a bit.

  14. So glad you are back amongst the blogging world. Missed you.
    Around here, anyway, seeing an eagle is supposed to bring you good luck. Aren’t vultures and eagles similar birds? Couldn’t that have been an eagle watching you? Maybe it brought you good luck……yeah, go with that. Love that pin on your header, btw.

  15. Ah, timing. Life’s great joke.

  16. I wondered where the hell you had gone. Glad you’re back from the Dark Side. That place is for shit. Why do they make us stay so long? Though I suppose you don’t stay as long there as you do at the interment site after you stop by the funeral home. Sheesh. Holy Creepy, Batman. Say, if some guy carrying a scythe rings your doorbell, don’t answer it.

  17. Coincidence? I think not! I hoped you laughed, because I really think the timing of this random marketing brochure was the wacky and wonderful Universe trying to get you to see the potential of humor in every moment.

    I had hemorrhoid surgery in February and it took me a LONG time to recover. It was awful. Last week I got an envelop from the hospital where the surgery was performed. I thought it was the standard “how did we do” survey. No. It was an invitation to a talk on planning your funeral. From a hospital! I laughed an plan a blog post on it. Too freaking funny…

  18. How was the open house?

  19. Well, one way to look at it is that that’s a pretty snazzy invitation. I think mine’s going to be written in crayon and covered in Hot Pocket stains.

  20. Good to see you……and glad you declined the invite 🙂

  21. Glad you’re feeling better. That would be disconcerting to have a vulture keeping track of you!

Talk to me.

